Sorry for lacking updates again! Weekends have been full of dog activities, and evenings as well. (This means that we are never at home during daylight, so our garden is quite poorly prepared for the winter… Particularly I haven’t done anything there.) Three weeks ago Taru and Samu had three agilitystarts in Hyvinkää, two weeks ago they had a training camp with B-team and last weekend I competed in obedience with Taru.

Agility competitions brought them the last missing clean run, so now Taru is qualified to both Finnish Champs and WC-qualifications next year. Otherwise the courses weren’t so very stylish.

B-team’s camp was a very very interesting experience. I was allowed to participate as an assistant, so we had two pairs of eyes and ears to learn (and too many dogs, so thanks a lot Pirjo, Nina and Tero for taking Kosmo and Myytti with you!!). Tosi followed us and got again plenty of practice on cottage accommodation, long waitings and new agility obstacles, even a table with a noise signal . Samu and Taru were among the most inexperienced in the team, and much fussing and hurrying in handling was caused because of excitement, I guess. He was still very satisfied with the gain of the camp, and so was I. And they managed to run perfectly the very last course of the weekend, a challenging course by Jan-Egil . It was good for their self-confidence that they managed to show that they can . It would be so useful to participate in two other camps too but we will see how it goes with Taru’s heat and possible puppies.

Last Saturday I had an opportunity to compete obedience for a long time (last time we were to compete I got sick) and before a long winter break. I think Taru was so cute but unfortunately the result wasn’t too great. Sitting and lying in group were good this time, 10. Next was stand, sit and down square which was good! Got 10. Heelwork was too eager, 9. In recall she was dreaming of the square and I didn’t take it into account but was too gentle --> poor stand, 9. In sending to the square I couldn’t estimate when I should command stand --> she slid out but then it went well, 9. Then it was a break and the worst moments left. First of these was directed retrieve, in which Taru aimed to run direct to the object but stopped when asked. I didn’t get a permission to command her ahead, so I guessed she wasn’t near enough the cone. I commanded to cone again, Taru jumped a couple of meters but not any nearer the cone but alongside the circle around it. Commended again but now Taru decided to retrieve the object… --> 0. Next was metal, good, 10. Scent discrimination then… She lifted the first one, started to work and brought the right one but 0 of course. Distant control: a double command in first stand, 9. So disappointing to get 0 again from the same moments but I think Taru was still fine! We are just too inexperienced yet. It’s a pity that there aren’t any more trials in the near future.