Have been lazy in updating, once again... We have been on holiday for two weeks now. Haven't done anything special but it's so lovely anyway (or because of it!). It's amazing how many little jobs one can get done when there's no need to think too much work things. I have trained much and still had time to be lazy (something that I love)!

There has been one competition in agility and one in obedience after the last update. Samu took part in one big agility happening, Agirotu, in the beginning of July. The so called Open Finnish Championships were held there. Taru did great in the first course despite of a bit cautious handling – she was 4th (out of 148 large dogs). So she came to the finals, and that was exciting to see (and hear)! Taru and Samu were nearly perfect there, but then in the end Samu draw Taru a bit too much and she passed a tunnel, so they got a refusal. Tero has the run on video, so maybe he sends it to us or puts it in the internet some day Kieli ulkona? (Now we have bought a new camera for us, so perhaps you will get some more videos to see, also starring Tosi!)

I competed in obedience with Taru on Friday. I was a bit greedy in entering elite class because we hadn't trained elite moments so much, but I didn't take too much pressures about it. I knew that Taru basically knows those things but was suspicious whether she would manage everything at the same time. Well, she did, she didn't get any 0's! But she did some mistakes and I did even more! We started with sit-stay, ok. Then down-stay. When the first dog in the row was commanded down, Taru (3rd dog) lied down too and I asked her back to sit. The judge didn't notice that, so we didn't got any penalty, but I didn't know it was a serious mistake...ooops Nolostunut!

There were two judge trainees in addition to the actual judge and probably this was why we took one moment each competitor, out of the ring, again one moment each and so on. So we were able to praise often but we also had to prepaire for the ring many times. It took time and it was hot. Taru wasn't as happy as she has been in trainings but it was clearly the same even for the more experienced dogs. I was very satisfied with heelwork and distance control, Taru did them almost exactly the way I like it! One also have to be satisfied with well done stand, sit and lie square and directed retrieve because I hadn't actually trained these before we had left the 3rd class. Recall and metal retrieve were the worst dissappointments. In recall Taru lied down when I said stand. I did my second stupid mistake: commanded her up because I didn't understand to think about points, just the wrong performance that I wanted to correct... The last part could have been faster, too. In metal retrieve Taru hesitated in taking the dumbbell, something she usually never does... But there were still many positive things, and I like those little, relaxed trials. Taru got 281,5 points, 1st prize and won the class.

Little Tosi has trained a bit of everything and got exciting experiences (like an agility show in a Finnish baseball match!). I really feel I don't have the capacity needed with this brave and complicated little animal, but we have great time anyway!

Tosi on a boat trip in Rauma area (photos from mobile phone):